Newbie Slave question

Posts related to specific vehicles, or any other general tuning info.

Return to General tuning

Newbie Slave question

Postby Escort » Wed Aug 07, 2019 6:34 pm

Hi,
My New Genius just got thru custom today and shoud be here shortly.
Im currently reading the guide" So you want to get into mapping cars..." and user manuals on New Genius.
Suddenly i started thinking about one thing, vin nr in maps.

Makup question:
We are som frinds, all have the same car. I buy a slave map for my own car.
Then i use the same map on my friends cars, shoud this work?

Why i ask is when i think back on BMW cars i have worked on earlyer , components in the car was progamed together using the vin number if i dont remember wrong.


So, can this be a issue on slave maps?
That you have to buy new every time because the vin is a part of the map and makes this a callange?

Sorry for my bad English.


Regards

John

Escort
New user
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2019 8:43 am
Location: Norway

Re: Newbie Slave question

Postby Tune4Fun » Wed Aug 07, 2019 9:19 pm

The ECU have to have the same HW and SW number, and normally you have to make /buy a new each time flashing.... But if you make your own map file, then you can use part of the map in the new file...Like using a template

Tune4Fun
Bronze
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2019 3:55 am
Location: Scandinavia

Re: Newbie Slave question

Postby Escort » Wed Aug 07, 2019 9:55 pm

Thank you sir!

:thumbup:


John

Escort
New user
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2019 8:43 am
Location: Norway

Re: Newbie Slave question

Postby Escort » Tue Aug 13, 2019 10:14 pm

Finally got my New Genius today! :D
Only one more question:
Where can i se wath my car will preform in new hk before i start?
I guess there will be som kind of info about tuned hk some place ?

Regards

John
:wave:

Escort
New user
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2019 8:43 am
Location: Norway


Return to General tuning

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests